EU countries tighten restrictions for US passengers

Written and Published September 11, 2021

Following the news and updates around the COVID-19 pandemic, many airlines were forced to suspend or reduce their daily operations. Unfortunately, many countries had to introduce some stricter entry requirements as well. We have the latest information to help you plan your next trip with ease! Many European countries are imposing stricter restrictions following the decision of the European Council to remove the US from the safe list.

EU countries tighten restrictions for US passengers flags-europe-eu-flag-european-1615129

EU countries tighten restrictions for US passengers

On August 30, 2021, the European Council updated the list of countries for which they recommend travel restrictions be lifted. Several countries were removed from the list as well, including the US. Over the last week, many EU countries are tightening entry restrictions for both vaccinated and unvaccinated US passengers.

From the European Council official press release:
Following a review under the recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, the Council updated the list of countries, special administrative regions, and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted. In particular, Israel, Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro, the Republic of North Macedonia, and the United States of America were removed from the list.

EU countries tighten restrictions for US passengers

The government of Spain announced that only passengers from the US that have been fully vaccinated will be able to enter the country. Passengers will need to fill out a health certificate prior to their trip and a negative COVID-19 test. The government of Italy announced that all fully vaccinated passengers will now need a negative test no older than 72h. Passengers that have not been vaccinated will still be allowed entry, with a mandatory quarantine of 5 days.

The government of Sweden announced that no passengers from the US will be allowed entry, regardless of the vaccination status. The government of Norway made a similar announcement, with one travel exception for close family members and persons in an established relationship with a resident of Norway. The Netherlands on the other hand will still be allowing only vaccinated passengers, but with a mandatory quarantine of ten days. The mandatory quarantine can be reduced to five days with a negative test result. Due to a rise in the Delta variant COVID cases, we might see more EU countries impose stricter restrictions on the US in the following weeks.