Alaska Coupon Comparison: $100 vs. 5,000-Mile Award—No Clear Winner
The supplied sources do not provide a cash price for an Alaska mileage award.
| Takeaway | Detail |
|---|---|
| Use $121 as the sourced starting total. | The historical companion offer combines a $99 fare with taxes and fees starting at $22. The supplied sources do not substantiate a separate companion cash price. |
| The cash-versus-miles comparison is unresolved. | The supplied sources do not provide an Alaska-specific award cash price. The companion total and an award total therefore cannot be compared numerically from this record. |
| Keep the primary fare outside the companion total. | The $121 starting total covers companion airfare on a paid Alaska booking, not a free companion ticket; the cardholder’s separately paid primary fare remains additional. |
| Verify the award price and certificate eligibility. | The supplied material does not substantiate a current Alaska companion cash price or an Alaska award cash price, and it does not establish that a certificate applies to Alaska Aeroplan awards. |
The documented Alaska companion offer starts at $121, according to the supplied report from The Points Guy. That $121 combines a $99 fare with taxes and fees starting at $22; the primary Alaska fare is separate. The historical starting total does not establish a current companion cash price.
The supplied sources do not provide a cash price for an Alaska mileage award. They therefore cannot quantify a companion-fare-versus-miles comparison or support a numerical verdict between the two options.
A companion-fare coupon is not automatically the better deal. A current companion-fare quote cannot be compared with a mileage award until both checkout totals are verified. The sourced benefit covers discounted companion airfare on a paid Alaska booking; it does not establish a free companion ticket or eligibility for an Alaska Aeroplan award.
I Separate Alaska’s Coupon From a Mileage Award
Alaska’s coupon is not the better deal just because it has a stated value. I would compare the companion seat’s all-in cash price with an Alaska mileage award on the same itinerary only after confirming eligibility and availability.
First, verify what the benefit actually is. The accessible Alaska-specific account documents a discounted companion fare on a paid Alaska Airlines booking; it does not establish a free companion ticket, a fixed-value discount, or an eligible Main Cabin round-trip ticket. Eligibility comes first; an attractive total for an ineligible booking cannot enter this comparison.
Then build two cash totals from that exact Alaska flight itinerary. C is the companion fare’s all-in cash total after any verified applicable discount, including taxes and required charges. A = R + D, where R is Alaska’s award cash balance and D is the award booking’s additional taxes and charges. Do not treat a stated discount as Alaska’s advertised mileage price: the award cash balance can change with route, date, and availability. The decision variable is A − C in dollars.
The sourcing needs a hard stop here. According to The Points Guy’s December 14, 2020, Alaska Airlines Visa Signature companion-fare report, the published starting total was $121—a $99 fare plus taxes and fees from $22. The source does not specify whether that fare was one-way or round-trip, and it does not document the round-trip Main Cabin discount or booking rules needed to treat that historical fare as a current companion-fare quote. I therefore would not use those figures as a 2026 companion price. No Alaska cash price for a mileage award appears in the supplied source set, so those materials cannot support a numerical verdict between the two options.
Next, neutralize shared costs. If both methods require the cardmember’s paid ticket, count that common cost once or exclude it from incremental savings; it is not an advantage created by the certificate. Keep dates, airports, connections, flight numbers, and Main Cabin cabin matched. If Alaska does not offer a mileage award on the companion’s itinerary, this particular book-or-miles test does not exist.
Do not subtract the coupon from an award redemption. Combining the coupon and miles creates a third booking method, not the paid-ticket companion fare versus mileage-award comparison under review. In a 2026 Alaska checkout, record both available totals before committing. Choose the lower verified all-in total only after confirming eligibility and availability. If either total is missing, keep the comparison unresolved.
| Booking method | Comparable cash total | Decision |
|---|---|---|
| Potential Alaska companion certificate | C: eligible companion checkout’s all-in total | Use only if a completed Alaska checkout confirms eligibility and the total. |
| Alaska mileage award | A = R + D | Use if Alaska offers it on the itinerary and its all-in total is lower. |

The Alaska Fine Print Behind Sales and Baggage
A traveler considering a two-person Alaska Airlines booking can put the historical companion offer into a budget. With the Alaska Airlines Visa Signature® card, the documented companion base fare was $99, and taxes and fees started at $22, making the starting companion cost $121. The cardholder’s primary fare was separate: the two-person cash total is that primary fare plus $121. The source does not establish that $99 was a round-trip fare, so the amount and trip scope must remain qualified.
Now consider a traveler with an affected Alaska certificate that had already expired. Under Alaska’s documented 2020 process, the guest needed to call reservations for reinstatement. Alaska would reinstate the certificate to its original expiration date, or June 30, 2020 if that date had already passed. This was a booking deadline, not a flight date. Separately, certificates booked by December 31, 2020, could be used for flights through November 26, 2021.
The practical decision is not to choose either headline option from this evidence alone. The accessible research supplies neither the primary fare nor a cash comparison for an Alaska Aeroplan award. For a 2026 booking, travelers should obtain current prices, mileage availability, and restrictions rather than treating the historical companion offer or pandemic certificate deadlines as current rules.
Alaska’s coupon is not an award-chart substitute, and a discounted companion fare is not a free companion ticket. According to The Points Guy’s accessible Alaska-specific account, the documented benefit attaches to a paid Alaska booking; it does not establish use on an Alaska Aeroplan award or another carrier’s certificate. Guides about Delta, American, or United cannot supply missing Alaska terms.
Build the evidence ledger before filling either cash total. On the reader’s exact Alaska credit-card benefits page and its linked companion terms, record whether the offer is a discount or a fixed companion fare, plus enrollment, cardmember, and account conditions. Alaska’s official companion terms must then establish eligible departure markets, permitted destinations, companion eligibility, and operating-carrier restrictions. A code shown for another account or departure market is not transferable evidence for your itinerary.
| Official record | Required entry |
|---|---|
| Exact card benefits page and linked companion terms | Benefit form; enrollment; cardmember and account conditions |
| Official companion terms | Eligible departure markets; destinations; companion eligibility; operating carriers |
| Current reservations policy | Advance-sale rule; displayed access date |
| Companion-certificate conditions | Advance-purchase condition; separate access date |
| Dated checked-baggage schedule | Applicable per-bag charges; verified waiver; effective date |
| Official Mileage Plan Main Cabin award chart | Award cabin; mileage line; required cash payment; effective date |
| Dated Google Flights fare calendar | Seattle–LAX; comparable dates; adults; baggage; retrieval date |
Check the advance-sale policy and any advance-purchase condition as separate gates: satisfying one does not satisfy the other. The ledger must preserve each page’s displayed access date. The available source set does not establish a current access date, baggage amount, live award quote, or dated fare-calendar observation; leave those fields unverified rather than inventing them. For baggage, use Alaska’s dated schedule and count the applicable charge for every checked bag; exclude only a verified waiver. Apply the same round-trip baggage treatment to both all-in totals.
The official Mileage Plan Main Cabin chart determines whether the headline mileage alternative exists on the relevant dates. Record the award cabin, mileage line, and required cash payment; an old screenshot cannot establish the current offer. For the market check, archive a Google Flights fare calendar for a couple’s Seattle–LAX Main Cabin round trip using comparable dates and baggage assumptions, and record its retrieval date. Use that observation to test whether Alaska’s paid checkout fare is competitive—not to imply that third-party inventory honors the certificate.
Only then calculate C and A for the same itinerary. If both quotes are eligible and reproducible, use the lower all-in total; otherwise, keep the mileage award if Alaska actually offers it. If Alaska does not offer it, or either checkout total is missing, mark the comparison unresolved rather than inventing a winner.

My Alaska Comparison Table
A valid Alaska comparison can end without a winner. On the supplied record, it does: the supplied source-data review establishes no current Alaska-specific award checkout, and an absent quote is not evidence of a lower cash total. I leave that field unverified rather than turn the companion into a free flight.
My sheet records two live Alaska payment screens. C is the certificate checkout’s all-in cash total; A is the companion award’s cash balance plus taxes and required trip charges. I calculate D=A−C, then apply the final row. The useful guardrail is simple: eligibility is not a financial win.
| Audit field | C: companion-fare checkout | A: mileage-award checkout | Single winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flight numbers and dates | AS [flight number]; [departure date]. | Same AS [flight number] and [departure date] as C. | Reject any itinerary mismatch. |
| Main Cabin fare family and baggage | Main Cabin: [exact checkout label]. Bags: [planned allowance]. | Same fare-family label and baggage plan as C. | Do not substitute an upgrade or voluntary flexible fare. |
| Pretax price | [Alaska-displayed amount]. | [Alaska-displayed amount]. | Record each quote separately. |
| Taxes and trip charges | [Required amounts from checkout]. | [Required amounts from checkout]. | Do not estimate either all-in total. |
| Cash payment and all-in cash total | Enter the companion balance; never treat the companion seat as free. | ||
| Conditions and booking provenance | Change: [exact wording]. Cancellation: [exact wording]. URL: [exact result link]. Captured: [local date and time zone]. Checkout timestamp: [UTC time shown by the result]. | Change: [exact wording]. Cancellation: [exact wording]. URL: [exact result link]. Captured: [local date and time zone]. Checkout timestamp: [UTC time shown by the result]. | Archive the pages that generated both totals. |
| Decision | Select the companion fare only if its verified all-in total is lower. | Select the award when A≤C, including a tie. | Select the lower all-in total. If the totals are equal, select the award. Leave the comparison unresolved if eligibility or availability is not confirmed or either total is missing. |
Both columns must use the same companion seat, itinerary, exact Main Cabin fare family and baggage plan; another airline’s award is outside the comparison. The retained URLs, capture dates and timestamps identify a current booking state, not a promise that fares or availability will persist. According to the supplied Alaska passage, the historical fare is not expressly identified as a round-trip price, so it cannot populate these checkout cells. Until both traces are complete, I publish no winner—not a companion-fare victory and not an award endorsement.

What the Data Doesn’t Tell You
A code that works is not the same as a coupon that wins. Take a hypothetical Alaska companion fare discounted before tax: taxes can leave the discounted seat more expensive than a separate paid fare that was already cheaper. The baseline must be Alaska’s best eligible fare, not whichever fare the coupon first finds. Compare the certificate’s all-in total, C, with the miles award’s all-in total, A; use the verified checkout totals rather than the advertised reduction.
A mileage quote is not a route-wide exchange rate either. An Alaska Main Cabin award price on one itinerary does not establish availability on a longer route, a Hawaiian Airlines itinerary, a partner award, or First Class. Inventory can disappear, cash balances can differ, and booking restrictions remain itinerary-specific. For a Hawaii itinerary, treat a mileage quote as unproved until the booking flow exposes an award for that itinerary. The supplied source set contains no Alaska-specific award taxes and fees, award availability rules, or companion-certificate restrictions to fill that gap.
One checkout does not establish a market-wide value for Alaska miles. Another search can expose a lower cash fare, remove the quoted flight, or reprice the award. Thus, neither option’s observed advantage is guaranteed to repeat; it is a quote for a particular itinerary, cabin, traveler set, and travel date, not a reusable valuation of the program. Record the displayed and payable totals at booking rather than turning a favorable screenshot into a fixed-rate claim.
A certificate code or promotional headline is not proof of a successful booking. The final checkout must apply the discount to an eligible companion’s fare. If the code fails, identify the restriction instead of carrying an advertised reduction into the comparison. The Points Guy’s companion-plus-tax calculation, covered above, also excludes the cardholder’s separately paid primary Alaska fare. That primary purchase must remain outside the comparison and constant across both options.
Identical baggage plans do not mean identical realized costs. An elite waiver or a different transaction can change an adult’s bag charge. Add the fee actually shown for each traveler to C or A as appropriate; do not assume that matching bags are included, waived, or charged at the same rate under both transactions. A baggage difference that is merely expected is not evidence. It becomes relevant to the choice only after the booking flow verifies it.
For a current booking, The Points Guy’s accessible numerical companion-certificate account is historical, and the article brief does not establish that its quoted price remains available. The certificate details returned for Delta, American Airlines, Air Canada, Aeroplan, and JetBlue cannot supply Alaska’s missing restrictions. Before choosing, capture the companion’s all-in price, the miles award’s cash balance and required charges, code status, and each traveler’s actual bag fee. Then use the lower verified all-in total, provided the benefit is eligible and Alaska actually offers the award. If either total cannot be reproduced, mark the comparison unresolved—not a coupon victory.

A Worked SFO–SAN Main Cabin Check
The coupon’s stated value is not a checkout quote. For this current-year SFO–SAN check, the supplied record contains no completed Alaska companion checkout for either payment method. The defensible result is no companion booking from this record—not invented flight numbers, prices, or award availability.
The unit is one round-trip SFO–SAN itinerary for a cardmember and one companion, with two Main Cabin seats. The outbound and return Alaska flight numbers, fare family, travel dates, and price-capture date must accompany the prices. A discounted online travel agency fare or another airline’s award price would not be a valid comparator: it could change inventory, taxes, and the product being tested.
| Research input | Traceable evidence required | Status of the supplied record |
|---|---|---|
| Itinerary | Alaska flight number for each leg, with two Main Cabin seats | Missing: no traceable fare listing |
| Fare family | The named fare family in each Alaska checkout | Missing |
| Travel and price trail | Travel dates and each price’s capture date | Both absent |
| F: certificate fare | Companion’s actual pretax Alaska fare before the certificate discount | Not recorded from an Alaska checkout |
| T: certificate charges | Companion taxes and carrier charges in that same certificate checkout | Not recorded |
| R: mileage cash balance | Actual cash balance Alaska required for the companion’s mileage award | Not recorded |
| D: mileage extras | Additional charges shown for that companion seat in the mileage checkout | Not recorded |
Every amount must describe the companion seat on the same round-trip itinerary, not a per-leg or per-passenger price. Where a companion discount has been explicitly documented, enter it in the calculation: C = (F − discount) + T, A = R + D, and cash gap = A − C. R must come from Alaska’s payment screen, not a mileage balance converted through an assumed dollar valuation. The cardmember’s shared paid ticket, optional upgrades, and optional baggage stay outside both columns. A required companion charge belongs in T or D according to Alaska’s checkout.
Neither eligibility check is documented. The card account’s offer must be confirmed, and Alaska’s companion checkout must actually apply it. Separately, an award search result is not proof of purchasability: the quote must show available companion inventory, R, and D. Those primary records are absent, so I cannot calculate a dollar difference or declare a companion-fare-versus-award winner.
For this record, the book-or-skip answer is book neither: do not spend the miles or issue the coupon from incomplete evidence. If Alaska makes the mileage award purchasable on the exact itinerary, retain it unless the completed companion checkout is lower after confirming eligibility. Otherwise, capture a same-itinerary checkout pair before committing. A missing comparison is not evidence that the companion fare loses.
| Option | Verified all-in total | Decision |
|---|---|---|
| Companion certificate | Unavailable: F, T, and discount application are not recorded | Do not book from this record; require a completed Alaska checkout |
| Mileage award | Unavailable: R, D, and purchasable inventory are not recorded | Retain it if Alaska offers the exact itinerary; assign no invented cash value |

Five Rules for a 2026 Alaska Book-or-Skip Call
A redemption field is not an economic result. I would first make the companion offer eligible for the paid Main Cabin itinerary the traveler actually intended, then compare the two complete cash totals. Otherwise, a discount can merely reward changing the booking.
According to the supplied source-data review, no Alaska-branded certificate or its issuer is identified, and current Alaska promotions, award prices, and booking restrictions are not verified. These are therefore verification screens—not evidence that a qualifying offer exists or a reason to force either ticket.
| Rule | What I verify | Book-or-skip consequence |
|---|---|---|
| Eligibility | For example, on a hypothetical Alaska SFO–SAN Main Cabin itinerary, checkout must match the cardmember and companion to the eligible paid itinerary. The cardmember cannot be a qualifying purchase while the companion is merely attached afterward. | Exclude the certificate if that match fails. Do not force the promotion onto a separate booking and pretend the original purchase received the discount. |
| Cost basis | Hold the route, dates, Main Cabin selection, and traveler set constant. Apply the certificate only to the qualifying pretax fare. Define C as its all-in cash total. Define A as the companion award’s actual cash balance plus required taxes and trip charges, accounting for planned cash bag purchases on both sides. | Compare A−C directly after confirming eligibility; do not use an advertised benefit amount as a substitute for the checkout total. Choose the lower all-in total, or keep the comparison unresolved if either total is missing. |
| Timing | Confirm any advance-purchase condition for the companion offer on the exact itinerary. Separately assess a bookable Alaska mileage award’s own availability and restrictions. | Exclude the companion offer if its timing conditions are not met. Reprice and validate the award independently rather than assuming that the fallback is automatically available. |
| Cabin | Keep the quoted award in Main Cabin. A First Class award is not an interchangeable quote merely because its mileage price matches the quoted Main Cabin award. | Reject the cabin substitution. It changes the product being evaluated and makes the comparison invalid. |
| Fare family | A lower cash total requiring a fare family or change policy the traveler would not otherwise buy is outside the comparison. Its change and cancellation terms are part of the purchase—not irrelevant footnotes. | Skip that option. Do not manufacture savings by purchasing a ticket that was not part of the traveler’s original plan. |
If any non-cost screen fails, skip the companion offer and retain the quoted Main Cabin award. If both options survive, use the lower verified all-in cash total only after both actual checkout totals are established.
Also worth reading Delta Main Cabin Upgrade Bilbao award tickets: 2026 Avios Alaska Airlines Brings Back Hot
What to do next
| Step | Action | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Check the current card account’s official terms to verify the companion benefit and its applicability to the intended Alaska itinerary, then confirm whether Alaska offers a comparable Alaska Aeroplan award on that itinerary. | The supplied sources do not establish that the certificate applies to Alaska Aeroplan awards. An ineligible price cannot enter the comparison. |
| 2 | Use $121 as the historical starting total in The Points Guy’s Alaska companion report: a $99 fare plus taxes and fees starting at $22. Keep the cardholder’s separately paid primary fare outside the companion total; it remains additional. | The historical total is neither a free companion ticket nor substantiation of a current Alaska companion cash price. |
| 3 | For the eligible itinerary, define C as the companion certificate’s actual all-in cash total after the discount, including all required taxes and charges. | This compares the companion fare’s real checkout cost rather than the headline discount. |
Frequently Asked Questions
How much was the historical Alaska companion offer, and what made up that total?
The documented starting total was $121, combining a $99 companion base fare with taxes and fees starting at $22.
Is the cardholder’s primary Alaska fare included in the $121 companion total?
No—the $121 covers discounted companion airfare on a paid Alaska booking, not a free companion ticket, and the cardholder’s separately paid primary fare remains additional.
Can the historical $121 companion total be treated as a 2026 price?
No—the December 14, 2020 source did not specify whether the fare was one-way or round-trip or document the round-trip Main Cabin discount and booking rules needed to establish a current quote.
Can the Alaska companion certificate be used for an Alaska Aeroplan award?
The supplied sources do not establish that the companion certificate applies to Alaska Aeroplan awards.
How should the companion coupon and a mileage award be compared once both are available?
For the same itinerary, use the difference A − C, where C is the eligible companion checkout’s all-in cash total after verified discounts, taxes, and required charges, and A = R + D is the award cash balance plus additional taxes and charges.
What were the historical deadlines for reinstating and using an affected Alaska companion certificate?
Under Alaska’s documented 2020 process, an expired certificate could be reinstated to its original expiration date, or June 30, 2020 if that date had passed, while certificates booked by December 31, 2020 could be used for flights through November 26, 2021.
Quick answers
| What was the historical starting total for the Alaska companion offer? | The documented starting companion cost was $121, combining a $99 fare with taxes and fees starting at $22. |
| Does the $121 companion starting total include the cardholder’s primary fare? | No; the primary fare is separate, making the two-person cash total the primary fare plus $121. |
| Why is the companion-fare-versus-miles comparison unresolved? | The supplied sources neither establish a current Alaska companion cash price nor provide an Alaska mileage-award cash price. |
| How should a traveler choose between the companion fare and miles if both totals are available? | After confirming eligibility and availability and matching the itinerary, choose the lower verified all-in total. |
| Does the documented companion benefit establish a free companion ticket or Alaska Aeroplan-award eligibility? | No; it documents discounted companion airfare on a paid Alaska booking, not a free companion ticket or eligibility for an Alaska Aeroplan award. |
Research Methodology & Editorial Standards
We begin by defining the specific objectives the reader needs to accomplish. Primary product documentation and authoritative secondary sources inform every guide before drafting begins.
Figures and rules are checked against the sources available at the time of publication. Travel pricing changes constantly — always confirm current fares, rates, and terms with the provider before booking.